Resiliency

 

Resiliency.  The word came up a few times yesterday as I immersed myself in paperwork and research.  The ability to get back to original form after being compressed, bent or ill.  Also associated with buoyancy.   I live with resilient, buoyant people.  This past month my daughter and her husband have temporarily moved in due to another fire that has left them apartmentless.  Yes that is two fires they have survived, neither one in their apartment but again without their stuff due to smoke damage.  So we have 5 people, 4 cars, 3 bedrooms, 2 dogs and a cat who hates dogs.  It is cozy but we manage, we laugh, we find our corners and we support each other.

The flu ripped through and all but one of us has been plagued.  We soldier on.   We all lead our separate public lives with many problems and stresses and we keep going.  Yes there was a point in the illness where I hit bottom and I cried dramatically “I just want it all to end”.  Like the supportive souls that they are, they laughed hard from their bellies and let me know I am ridiculous and fed me the hamburger I was craving.

Resilient people do not take themselves too seriously.

I was called by a friend whose son is experiencing some trouble in school.  It reminded me of the importance of building resiliency in our kids.  How?  We challenge them to do things out of their comfort zone, we don’t rescue them when they don’t need it, we let them know they have freedom of choice, we let them do things in their way, we trust them, we don’t give advice unless asked, we see them as who they are, we invest in the things that make them shine, we help them shake off the dust when they fall and stay positive,  we fail and show them how we get back up again, we laugh with them.

I like the idea of buoyancy.  The idea that we can float above all the things that can bog us down.  Cheerfully and lightly passing through all that comes our way.  It’s good for us and will support our kids in being able to do it too.

 

About livingincolourwithgrace

I am an Artist and Expressive Arts Life Coach. I create art and support others to do so for fun, self-discovery and healing. I love the beautiful and ridiculous and find it everywhere.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

